(photo) Sen. Stephen Harding named new CT Senate Republican Leader

February 16, 2024

For Immediate Release

Sen. Stephen Harding named new Senate Republican Leader

Says caucus “remains unified and focused on standing up for all people.”

Thanks Sen. Kevin Kelly for his “tireless leadership”

Sen. Stephen Harding (R-Brookfield) has been named the new Senate Republican Leader by the Senate Republican Caucus, replacing Sen. Kevin Kelly (R-Stratford).

Sen. Kelly has stepped down from the leadership role he was named to in 2020.

“I have been incredibly honored to serve as the leader of this caucus and will work collaboratively with Sen. Harding going forward,” Sen. Kelly said. “Our caucus is made up of hard-working individuals who love our state and are ready to fight for it. Together we continue to stand up for policies that make our state more affordable for all people by reducing tax burdens on poor, working- and middle-class families, creating opportunities in education and jobs, and increasing health care access and affordability. Sen. Harding is extremely knowledgeable and cares deeply about the people of Connecticut. He will be an excellent Senate Republican Leader.”

“I am honored to have been chosen by our caucus to succeed Sen. Kelly as caucus leader,” Sen. Harding said.  “Sen. Kelly has served our caucus tirelessly for more than three years. As leader, I will make sure our caucus remains unified and focused on standing up for all people, offering solutions and showing a better path forward. From strengthening public safety, environmental, education, and health care policies to preserving fiscal discipline, we will work to give residents the stability and predictability they deserve. I thank Sen. Kelly for his leadership and look forward to the challenges ahead.”

Sen. Harding, an attorney, was elected to the 30th District Senate seat in 2022 after four terms serving the people of the 107th House District. The 30th State Senate District is the largest geographically in the state, comprising the communities of Bethlehem, Brookfield, Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Fairfield, New Milford, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Sherman, Torrington, Warren, Washington and Winchester.