Senator Kissel Celebrates 8th Annual Essay Contest Ceremony with Enfield Students

July 3, 2017



For the past 8 years I have had the privilege of hosting an essay contest for Enfield students. Each year I receive essays from young minds that truly impress me and inspire my own continued learning. This year the essay contest topic was describe your favorite place.  I received many essays all discussing student’s favorite places which ranged from their favorite Connecticut eatery to their favorite family trips. This year St. Bernard School, St. Martha’s School and JFK Middle school participated.

All honorees bravely read their essays in front of everyone. Students honored at the essay contest awards ceremony included:

Sikorowicz Team:

Winner: Averie Doran

Cianci Team:

Winner: Ashton Rader

Runner-up: Andrew Goddard

Clarity Team:

Winner: Sara Shawahna

Runner-up: Gage Labak

Farrell Team:

Winner: Anna Bemiss

Runner-up: Emily Galbraith

St. Martha School

Winner: Emily Rougeot

Runner-up: Alessandro Bacabac

St. Bernard School

Winner: Chelsea Smith

Runner-up: Cadence Delorge

I want to extend a huge thank you to all of the participants and say congratulations to all of the winners and runners-up! Your love for writing is something than you can bring with you in many different areas of life and I encourage you to do so.

I also want to extend a big thank you to 360 Federal Credit Union as they were our sponsor for the contest this year. They generously gave each winner and runners-up amazon gift cards!

As President John F. Kennedy said, “Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other.” To all of the essay contest participants – keep writing, keep learning, keep leading!