Connecticut Greenways Council Honors Senator Roraback With Conservation Award

May 12, 2003

Senator Andrew Roraback, R-30, today received the Connecticut Greenways Council Recognition Award in honor of his many years of consistent effort to preserve open space and protect natural resources in northwest Connecticut.

LaVerta D. Matthews, chair of the Connecticut Greenways Council, was joined by Governor Rowland in presenting the award.

Other members of the Connecticut Greenways Council, which nominated Senator Roraback for this award, include Elaine LaBella, of Kent, who is Land Preservation Director of the Housatonic Valley Association; and Susan Branson of Bethlehem, who works with the Steep Rock Association in Washington.

“While it is always gratifying to be recognized, I am particularly honored to have been selected by the Greenways Council to receive an award. Representing 15 communities where local leaders have taken the initiative to preserve thousands of acres of pristine land is truly inspiring. Our collective work to preserve the unique landscape which defines northwest Connecticut must continue in earnest,” said Senator Roraback.

In 2002, Senator Roraback was recognized by the Working Lands Alliance for his support of farmland preservation efforts in northwest Connecticut. During his nine years of service in the General Assembly, Senator Roraback has vigorously supported acquisition of open space by the state, including the 850-acre North Goshen Wildlife Management Area and the 550-acre Camp Columbia property in Morris. In addition, Senator Roraback has lent his support to local land conservation organizations and communities that take advantage of the state’s open space matching grant program. Among the successful grant applicants whose efforts Senator Roraback supported are: Warren Land Trust, Goshen Land Trust, Litchfield Land Trust, Sharon Land Trust, White Memorial Foundation, Sharon Audubon Society, Steep Rock Association, Town of New Milford, Cornwall Land Trust and Kent Land Trust.