Sen. Tony Hwang Receives “Town Crier” Award for His Advocacy of CT’s Small Communities

January 12, 2023

“We love our small towns.”

Sen. Tony Hwang on Jan. 11 was presented the Connecticut Council of Small Towns’ (COST) “Town Crier” Award in recognition of his leadership role in championing the interests of small towns at the State Capitol.

“COST is widely recognized as a trusted and respected advocate for Connecticut’s small towns,” Sen. Hwang said. “I am honored to be recognized as a champion for the taxpayers who live and work in our small towns. I continue to work with Democrats and Republicans to help improve the quality of life in our communities.”

Sen. Hwang pledged to continue his advocacy on housing and other development issues affecting small towns.

“One-size-fits-all land use mandates undermine efforts to work collaboratively to create sustainable and effective housing solutions,” Sen. Hwang said.

The award recognizes Sen. Hwang’s ongoing efforts to support fair share funding for small towns and reject burdensome, unfunded mandates.

“At the State Capitol, I continue to press for common sense approaches to helping towns reduce costs, grow their local economies, and meet the needs of their residents,” Sen. Hwang said. “We love our small towns, and under the gold dome in Hartford I will continue to be a strong voice for our smaller communities.”

Sen. Hwang is a ranking member of the Connecticut legislature’s Transportation and Insurance and Real Estate Committees. He is a member of the Planning and Development Committee and the Finance Revenue and Bonding Committee. He is also the Ranking Member of the Bonding Subcommittee of the Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee.

He represents Bethel, Fairfield, Easton, Newtown and Sandy Hook.

On the web:


Sen. Tony Hwang accepts the “Town Crier” award from the Connecticut Council of Small Towns for his leadership in addressing the needs of the state’s smaller communities.


Posing with their “Town Crier” Awards: Sen. Tony Hwang, Rep. Maria Horn, and Rep. Joe Zullo.