Sen. Boucher Praises Ridgefield, Westport Designation as Sustainable Communities

October 5, 2018

State Senator Toni Boucher (R-26) today announced that the towns of Ridgefield and Westport are among the inaugural list of communities certified under the Sustainable CT program. The program is a statewide initiative to promote efficient, resilient, and inclusive communities.

“Having Ridgefield and Westport be certified Bronze communities by Sustainable CT, in the inaugural listing of towns achieving certification is a tremendous accomplishment,” Sen. Boucher said. “The Sustainable CT designation lets businesses and potential residents know that these are forward-looking communities that have a vested interest in promoting the health and well-being of its residents and economy. These communities are actively taking steps to be thriving, resilient, energy-efficient, and inclusive. These are places people want to live, work, and raise a family.”

In all, Sustainable CT announced 22 newly certified towns. The recognized municipalities worked to demonstrate significant achievements in nine sustainability impact areas ranging from thriving local economies and vibrant arts-and-culture to clean transportation and diverse housing. In addition, the towns had to address diversity, inclusion and equity when implementing sustainability actions. The certification submissions went through a series of rigorous reviews by independent experts and Sustainable CT partners.

The Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) will host an awards ceremony to recognize Sustainable CT certified towns at its annual convention in late October.

“As knowledge about Sustainable CT and the benefits of participating in its initiative grows, I hope many more communities will take up the organization’s challenge,” Sen. Boucher said. ” Environmental issues have long been a priority of the residents in the 26th State Senate District and I am proud that these two towns will serve as role models for other communities.”

With input from municipal leaders across the state, Sustainable CT developed over the past few years under the leadership of the Institute for Sustainable Energy at Eastern Connecticut State University, in partnership with the CCM. More information can be found at

Sen. Boucher represents the communities of Bethel, New Canaan, Redding, Ridgefield, Weston, Westport, and Wilton.