State Legislators Host 8th Annual Memorial Day Essay Contest

July 24, 2018

State Representative Tim LeGeyt (R-17) and State Senator Kevin Witkos (R-8) recently hosted the 8th Annual Memorial Day Essay Contest, sponsored in conjunction with Collinsville Savings Society in Canton.  In the spirit of the Memorial Day holiday, sixth grade students from Thompson Brook Elementary in Avon and Canton Intermediate School in Canton submitted essays on the topic, ‘What Memorial Day Means to Me’.

“Each year, I look forward to hosting this essay contest and seeing the fine work put forth by all of our bright and creative students from Thompson Brook Elementary and Canton Intermediate Schools,” said Rep. LeGeyt of his 8th and final year hosting the contest. “This year’s essay contest was somewhat bittersweet for me, as this is my final term as a legislator. It is my hope that this annual tradition will continue for years to come, and enrich the learning of our young students. Thank you to this year’s student participants, whose essays were again, exemplary reflections on the importance and meaning of Memorial Day to them. I also extend my thanks to the teachers and staff, who continue to support the writing process. My sincerest gratitude and thanks go to Collinsville Savings Society, for their continued partnership in making this important event possible for students and their families, year after year.”

“Congratulations to all the students who participated and were selected as winners,” said Sen. Witkos, who was unable to attend the awards ceremony due to a legislative schedule conflict. “It is always impressive to see the amazing work of our local students in these essay contests. I enjoy reading about how they see the world and what is of value to them. I want to thank all those students who took the time to think about this important topic and share their perspective. Amazing work!”

The winners were presented with a monetary award from Collinsville Savings Society, along with a citation from the General Assembly in recognition of their accomplishment.

Thompson Brook Elementary School – Avon

  1. Alexandra Gliwinski
  2. Danielle Chung
  3. Bridget Harris

    Canton Intermediate School – Canton

  1. Olivia Daigneault
  2. Zainab Khan
  3. Sam Bradley

There were over 140 essays submitted by students from Thompson Brook Elementary and Canton Intermediate Schools for this year’s contest.