Rep. Smith and Sen. McLachlan Honor President’s Award Winners at the Sherman School

June 15, 2018

McLachlan with award winners

SHERMAN – State Representative Richard Smith (R-108) and State Senator Michael McLachlan (R-24) attended a ceremony in honor of three Sherman School students who won the President’s Award for Education Excellence & Achievement.  The two legislators joined middle school students and staff to celebrate the achievements of the graduating eighth-grade class and present state citations honoring the winners of the President’s Award.

The President’s Education Awards program is awarded on behalf of the President of the United States and the US Secretary of Education in recognition of US students for their educational achievements.  To receive the President’s Award for Education Excellence, students must meet a minimum GPA of 4.0, while the award for Educational Achievement is given to a student who demonstrates “education growth, improvement, commitment, or intellectual development.”

Sherman School eighth-graders Kate O’Farrell and Liam Scanlon received the President’s Award for Education Excellence.  Eilish Foy won the award for Educational Achievement.

“I am very proud of all of the accomplishments of our middle schoolers here at the Sherman School – they all have worked diligently to get to where they are now and set themselves up for a successful high school career,” said Rep. Smith.  “The winners of the prestigious President’s Award deserve special praise for going above and beyond the call of duty to achieve excellence and they deserve special recognition in this way. Congratulations and best of luck to Kate, Liam, Eilish, and all of our students at the Sherman School.  I am sure they will continue to make us proud.”

“The President’s Award sets a high bar for our students,” said Sen. McLachlan.  “The fact that we have two winners for Education Excellence and a winner for Educational Achievement in the same school speaks to the quality of education provided by Sherman School and the dedication of the students who attend.  It was an honor to meet these young people.  I hope their achievements and the recognition they received will be an incentive to other students.”

Rep. Smith represents the 108th General Assembly district communities of New Fairfield, Sherman, New Milford and Danbury.

Sen. McLachlan represents the 24th Senate district communities of Danbury, Bethel, New Fairfield, and Sherman.