Witkos, Slap Applaud Local Winners of Congressional App Development Competition

May 2, 2018

2018-05-01 Congressional App Challenge

Deputy Senate Republican President Pro Tempore Kevin Witkos (R-Canton) and State Representative Derek Slap (D-Avon) recognized two local winners of a national coding competition at the State Capitol on May 1.

The local lawmakers participated in a ceremony co-hosted by CT Computer Science Teachers Association recognizing Dheepa Hari and Jaya Hari (pictured)from Avon High School, winners of the Congressional App Challenge (CAC). Dheepa and Jaya developed a virtual forensics chemical lab simulation app. Their app was chosen as the winning app for Connecticut’s 5th Congressional District.

“These young students are extremely deserving of this national honor,” said Sen. Witkos. “They are two impressive students who are truly role models for others. I want to congratulate Dheepa and Jaya, their families and Avon High School for this incredible recognition and the hard work that these students put in to a remarkable project.”

“Dheepa and Jaya are two rising stars who have shown that with hard work, determination and motivation, anything is possible. Congratulations to these two students and their families on this incredible honor. The success of this project is just one milestone in their journey of future achievements,” Rep. Slap said.

The Congressional App Challenge (CAC) is a public effort to encourage youth to learn how to code, through annual district-wide competitions hosted by Members of Congress for their district. Over 4,900 students across the nation participated in this year’s challenge.

Students in participating districts code original applications for the chance to be selected for recognition by their Member of Congress, win prizes, and have their work put on display in the Capitol Building in Washington, DC. The district-wide competitions, now in their third year, take place from July through early November. The CAC is executed by the Congressional staff of each participating district, and coordinated by the Congressional Internet Caucus and the non-governmental sponsor of the project, the Internet Education Foundation.