State Legislators Host 7th Annual Memorial Day Essay Contest in Canton

July 13, 2017

State Representative Tim LeGeyt (R-17) and State Senator Kevin Witkos (R-8) recently hosted the 7th Annual Memorial Day Essay Contest, sponsored in conjunction with Collinsville Savings Society in Canton. In the spirit of the Memorial Day holiday, sixth grade students from Thompson Brook Elementary in Avon and Canton Intermediate School in Canton submitted essays on the topic,‘What Memorial Day Means to Me’.

Representative LeGeyt joined Don Lorusso, Collinsville Savings Society Executive Vice President, along with parents and guests, at the June 1st award ceremony, held at the bank. During the ceremony, the students read their winning essays to the audience, sharing why they felt the Memorial Day holiday was important to them.

“I look forward to hosting this essay contest each year and seeing the good work put forth by all of our bright and creative students from Thompson Brook Elementary and Canton Intermediate Schools,” said Rep. LeGeyt. “This year’s essays were again, top-notch reflections on the importance and meaning of Memorial Day to them. The teachers and staff do a wonderful job of facilitating the writing process, and I thank them for their efforts. I also extend my gratitude and thanks to Collinsville Savings Society, who continue to be a partner in making this important event possible for students and their families, year after year.”

“It’s always a joy to see what these talented students create each and every year. Writing is such an important way to give people a voice and help students learn how to express their thoughts, opinions and ideas. I thank all the students who participated and reflected on the importance of Memorial Day and what the solemn holiday means to them. Thank you to all who helped organize the event and support the students,” said Sen. Witkos, who was unable to attend the awards ceremony due to a legislative schedule conflict.

The winners were presented with a monetary award from Collinsville Savings Society, along with a citation from the General Assembly in recognition of their accomplishment.

Thompson Brook Elementary School – Avon

1) Alexandra Gliwinski

2) Danielle Chung

3) Bridget Harris

Canton Intermediate School – Canton

1) Olivia Daigneault

2) Zainab Khan

3) Sam Bradley

There were over 140 essays submitted by students from Thompson Brook Elementary and Canton Intermediate Schools for this year’s contest.