Martin, Petit Congratulate Plainville Volunteer Firefighters on Years of Service

January 22, 2017


PLAINVILLE – On Tuesday, January 17, State Senator Henri Martin (R-31) and State Representative William Petit, Jr. (R-22) presented official citations on behalf of the Connecticut General Assembly to members of the Plainville Volunteer Fire Department. Eight members of the department were recognized by the Plainville Town Council for their years of service to the community.

Sen. Martin said, “Thank you for all the nights, weekends and holidays (spent) away from your family, so you can protect everyone’s family.”

Rep. Petit said, “Thank you to our volunteer Firefighters for all that you do protect the residents of Plainville and our friends and loved ones. We can sleep soundly knowing that you will answer the call to aid us and our families in times of need.”

The Plainville Town Council annually recognizes firefighters for their long-term service at its second meeting of the new year. This year’s honorees have served between five years and 40 years with the department.

Volunteer firefighters honored Tuesday night were Keith Matteson (5 years of service); Dennis Wynne (10 years of service); Michael Dietrich (25 years of service); William Gammon (30 years of service); Jeffrey Johnson (35 years of service); Thomas Borio and Fire Marshal Larry Sutherland (40 years of service).

“It takes a special, dedicated individual to be a firefighter,” Sen. Martin said.

“Today we honor your service. I would like to especially thank and congratulate Firefighters Borio and Sutherland, for four decades of steadfast and loyal service,” Rep. Petit said.

Sen. Martin represents the communities of Bristol, Harwinton, Plainville, Plymouth, and Thomaston. Rep. Petit serves the communities of New Britain and Plainville.