Fasano Announces General Assembly Committee Assignments, Takes on New Role as Ranking Member of Legislative Management Committee

December 11, 2014

Senator Fasano will serve on the Legislative Management, Executive & Legislative Nominations, Internship, and Planning & Development Committees

Hartford – State Senator Len Fasano (R-North Haven), incoming Senate Minority Leader, and State Senator Kevin Witkos (R-Canton), incoming Senate Minority Leader Pro Tempore, today announced the Senate Republicans’ legislative committee assignments for the upcoming legislative session which begins on January 7. Senator Fasano will now serve in the position of Ranking Member of the Legislative Management Committee, and will hold membership roles in the Executive & Legislative Nominations, Internship, and Planning & Development committees.

“We have an incredible group of lawmakers in the Senate Republican caucus who are ready to apply their extensive knowledge and skills to make significant contributions within Connecticut’s legislative committees. Our Republican senators will bring fresh ideas to the table to address the many challenges our state faces and to better Connecticut not only for today, but also for our future. We look forward to a very productive legislative term,” said Senator Fasano.

Senator Fasano previously served as a member of the Legislative Management Committee and a Ranking Member of the Executive & Legislative Nominations, Internship, and Planning & Development committees.

The Joint Committee on Legislative Management conducts the business affairs of the General Assembly. As a new Ranking Member of this committee, Fasano, along with fellow members, will be responsible for the operation of the General Assembly, coordination and supervision of committee work, improvement of legislative operations and deciding on matters of organization, procedures, facilities and working conditions of the General Assembly and compensation of employees of the legislative branch.

The 2015 Legislative Session will begin on January 7, 2015. A full list of Senate Republican committee assignments is attached.