Sen. Fasano Named 2013 Legislative Champion By Mothers Against Drunk Driving

November 20, 2013

From left: Rep. Themis Klarides; Rep. Al Adinolfi; MADD’s state legislative liaison, Skip Church; Sen. Len Fasano; Rep. Gerald Fox

Urges Increased Vigilance, Responsible Decisions This Holiday Season

Hartford, CT – State Senator Len Fasano (R-34) has been recognized by the national organization of Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) as a 2013 Legislative Champion. The honor is bestowed yearly upon state legislators across the country for their support of legislation to prevent tragedies related to drunk driving. Fasano was among five Connecticut State Legislators, out of eighty-nine nationally, to be honored by MADD this year. Connecticut state representatives Themis Klarides (R-114), Gerald Fox (D-146), Al Adinolfi (R-143), and Richard Smith (R-108) were also recognized last Wednesday at a local award ceremony held at Anthony’s Ocean View in New Haven (see attached photo).

Senator Fasano has been recognized by MADD several times during his tenure in the state Senate for his steadfast and consistent advocacy of tougher laws to help prevent drunk driving and educate young drivers about road safety.

“As a father and as a legislator, I have always made road safety and the prevention of drunk driving a priority. Sadly, drunk driving incidents tend to happen with greater frequency around the holiday season,” Senator Fasano said in accepting the award. “Tough laws are important, but they alone cannot solve the problem. As a community, let’s look out for one another and make sure our friends and neighbors are making safe and responsible decisions this holiday season.”

MADD National President Jan Withers said, “MADD graciously thanks these lawmakers who authored legislation improving their state’s drunk driving laws. MADD is thankful for their work on legislation requiring ignition interlocks for all convicted drunk drivers or legalizing the option of sobriety checkpoints—countermeasures proven to save lives and prevent injuries.”

The link to the MADD press release and the names of all 2013 Legislative champions can be found here: