Roraback’s Voting Streak Extends to 15 Years, 7,432 Consecutive Votes

December 28, 2009

HARTFORD – The Senate Clerk’s office has tabulated the results of Senate votes during the 2009 regular and special legislative sessions and confirmed that state Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30th) cast all 592 votes which took place this year.

Since beginning his service in the General Assembly on January 4, 1995, Senator Roraback has cast 7,432 votes and has been present for every vote taken in his fifteen legislative sessions. After serving six years in the House of Representatives and nine years in the Senate, Senator Roraback is the only member of the 187-member General Assembly who can claim this record.

“Voting on behalf of the people of my district is the most important responsibility I have as a state Senator,” said Senator Roraback. “I am privileged to represent a district whose residents pride themselves on hard work and civic engagement. I feel fortunate that neither illness nor any other emergency has interfered with my ability to work on their behalf.”

Senator Roraback, the Deputy Senate Minority Leader Pro Tempore and Minority Caucus Chairman of the Connecticut State Senate, represents the 30th District communities of Brookfield, Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Milford, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington, Warren, Washington and Winsted.

*Legislative rules have required Senator Roraback to abstain from six votes taken in the fifteen years he has served.