Sen. Kissel Hosts Enfield Essay Contest

November 25, 2009

Senator Kissel and Rockville Bank recognize winning essayists
State Senator John A. Kissel (R-Enfield) yesterday evening, November 24th, hosted the National Inspirational Role Models Month Essay Contest Awards Ceremony at the Enfield Public Library. Ten elementary schools in Enfield participated in the contest and runners-up and winners from each school were recognized at the award ceremony and given the opportunity to publicly share their essays.

“This event was a huge success,” said Sen. Kissel. “This was Enfield’s first 6th Grade writing contest regarding positive role models that I am aware of and several individuals told me they hoped this would turn into an annual event. We were hoping for a good crowd, but our expectations were exceeded and there was standing room only. I was also happy that Mayor Scott Kaupin joined us in presenting the awards. Finally, Rockville Bank deserves a great deal of credit. With Rockville Bank’s very generous donation of U.S. Savings Bonds as prizes the children were doubly honored.”

Sixth-grade students from each public and parochial elementary school in Enfield were invited to participate in the National Inspirational Role Models Month Essay Contest by submitting an essay about their personal role model. Prizes in the amount of a $100 savings bond for each winner and a $50 bond for each runner-up were generously donated by Rockville Bank.

“Encouraging young people to write is very important and recognizing the excellent work of these students will hopefully go a long way in motivating them to continue developing strong writing skills. The children also did a fabulous job reading their essays in front of a large audience. I was as impressed by their comfort with public speaking as I was by their wonderful essays,” added Sen. Kissel.

“Rockville Bank is proud to support the National Inspirational Role Models Month Essay Contest,” said Rockville Bank Representative, Rick Cheney. “The creative skills demonstrated through this contest will serve the students well in the future.”

The list of winners and runners-up are as follows: Eli Whitney School: Avery Ketchale, Runner-up, Casey Martin, Winner; Enfield Montessori School: Spencer Lizotte, Runner-up, Maeve Fearon, Winner; Enfield Street School: Brandyn Bass, Runner-up, Ashley MacGregor, Winner; Harriet Beecher Stowe School: Connor Shannahan, Runner-up, Derra Tennis, Winner; Hazardville Memorial School: Emma Kertanis, Runner-up, Brooke Meehan, Winner; Henry Barnard School: Allison Mannette, Runner-up, Aleksondra Patalik, Winner; Prudence Crandall School: Lauren Nicole Kienzler, Runner-up, Amanda Jo Prose, Winner; St. Bernard School: Emily Solesky, Runner-up, Emma Zorda, Winner; St. Martha School: Rahul Deshmukh, Runner-up, James McKinney, Winner; Thomas G. Alcorn School: Lindsey Wilson, Runner-up, Taylor Lancaster, Winner.