Senator Kane Welcomes Federal Public Safety Grants To Local Communities

October 30, 2009

Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Seymour, Southbury & Woodbury Receive Funds In Latest Round Of Justice Assistance Grants

State Senator Rob Kane (R-32) applauded the awarding of federal stimulus funding to several communities across Connecticut, including Bethlehem, Bridgewater, Seymour, Southbury and Woodbury, for public safety and crime prevention.

“Even during this difficult economic time, communities must continue to invest in public safety. The towns benefitting from this round of Justice Assistance Grants through the federal stimulus program appreciate the help paying for equipment and programs important to their residents,” said Senator Kane.

According to information released by Governor M. Jodi Rell, the state awarded $640,000 to 28 communities in this round of federal stimulus grants for public safety and crime prevention. To date, 150 communities have received nearly $4 million in six rounds of grant awards. All 169 municipalities are eligible.

Federal Justice Assistance Grants were recently awarded to:

Bethlehem – $9,100 to purchase security cameras for Town Hall, the surrounding athletic field, basketball court and parking lot.
Bridgewater – $9,100 to purchase equipment for communication, traffic enforcement and road safety for use by town constables and the resident state trooper.
Seymour – $30,000 to purchase and install surveillance cameras at various locations where vandalism has occurred.
Southbury – $9,100 toward the cost of a Cogent Mugshot System.
Woodbury – $9,100 to purchase firearms, a DVD camcorder, surveillance equipment and a digital camera.

Further information about these grants and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) in Connecticut is available by clicking on the CT Recovery Link at