State Senator Len Fasano Honored by Connecticut Conference of Municipalities

January 26, 2009

Hartford, CT – State Senator Len Fasano (R-North Haven) was honored by the Connecticut Conference of Municipalities (CCM) at a ceremony in Hartford last Thursday. Senator Fasano was presented with the first annual Roger Sherman Award for Public Service. The award acknowledges the efforts of public officials made on behalf of the state’s cities and towns. Senator Fasano

“We at CCM appreciate the hard work Senator Fasano has done on behalf of municipalities in fighting against state mandates while serving on the General Assembly’s Planning & Development Committee,” said Gian-Carl Casa, Director of Public Policy for CCM. “This award is a small token of our gratitude and a nod to Senator Fasano’s dedication to the prosperity of Connecticut’s cities and towns.”

“I am proud to receive this award from CCM,” said Senator Fasano. “This group puts forth an incredible amount of effort to help the cities and towns throughout our state grow and prosper. However, this expansion is often stopped in its tracks by the handing down of unfunded state mandates. These mandates force municipalities to spend money on programs and policies they haven’t necessarily approved, often preventing the very growth that is so critical to our state’s economy. These mandates are patently unfair and I will continue to fight against them in the General Assembly.”

The award will be presented annually in honor of Roger Sherman’s legacy. Sherman, a Connecticut resident, was the only person to sign all four founding documents of the nation, including the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. Roger Sherman also served in Congress, the state legislature and as Mayor of New Haven.

In addition to Senator Fasano, nine other members of the General Assembly received the award: Sen. Eric Coleman (D-2), Sen. Eileen Daily (D-33), Sen. Andrew McDonald (D-27), Rep. Deb Heinrich (D-101), Rep. Craig Miner (R-66), Rep. Brian O’Connor (D-35), Rep. Jason Perillo (R-113), Rep. Brendan Sharkey (D-88) and Rep. Cameron Staples (D-96).

Founded in 1966, CCM is comprised of 144 municipalities in Connecticut. It provides its member communities with a variety of services such as professional training, research and analysis, management assistance and labor relations. CCM has offices in New Haven and in Hartford. For more information on CCM, visit their website: