Sen. Kane, Reps Labriola and Williams Hail Small Cities Grants for Watertown, Oxford

October 3, 2008

State Senator Rob Kane (R-32nd) and state representatives David Labriola (R-131st), and Sean Williams (R-68th) today hailed the award of Small Cities grants for housing improvement projects in Oxford and Watertown.

Earlier this week, Governor M. Jodi Rell announced the award of a $300,000 grant to Watertown for housing rehabilitation, and a $700,000 grant to Oxford to help the Housing Authority renovate 34 elderly rental units at the Crestview Ridge Housing Complex.

“This is excellent news to the citizens of Oxford and Watertown who live at these residential complexes. As Governor Rell noted when announcing these grants, it is important that Connecticut’s most vulnerable citizens have safe and secure places to live,” said Senator Kane.

“I’m delighted that Watertown will be receiving much needed funding for this important housing rehabilitation project, and even happier for the individuals who live there who will benefit from the improvements to their units,” said Representative Williams.

“This is tremendous news for the Crestview Ridge community’s Oxford seniors,” Representative Labriola said. ”It was a privilege to work with Governor Rell and Senator Kane to obtain this funding. The improvements this grant will finance will go a long way toward improving the quality of life at Crestview.”

Oxford and Watertown are among the 28 municipalities awarded Small Cities grants this week for housing, infrastructure improvements and other capitol projects. The Small Cities program is funded by a federal block grant, and administered by the state Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD).

The $700,000 Small Cities grant awarded to Oxford will be used to help the Housing Authority renovate 34 elderly rental units at Crestview Ridge Housing Complex. According to the Governor’s office, the renovations will include weather stripping and insulation, thermostat replacement, roof replacement, an upgrade to the emergency alarm system, outside lighting upgrades, a new intercom and entry system, and “roll-in” showers for six handicapped units.

The $300,000 Small Cities grant awarded to Watertown will be used for housing rehabilitation. According to the Governor’s office, the town plans to update nine units of substandard housing for low-and moderate-income residents.

Senator Kane’s district includes Watertown and Oxford. Representative Labriola’s district includes Naugatuck, Oxford and Southbury. Representative Williams represents Oakville, Watertown, and Woodbury.