Roraback’s Voting Streak Extends to 13 Years, 6,398 Consecutive Votes

November 27, 2007

HARTFORD – The Senate Clerk’s office has tabulated the results of Senate votes during the 2007 regular and special legislative sessions and confirmed that state Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30th) cast all 628 votes which took place this year.

Since beginning his service in the General Assembly on January 4, 1995, Senator Roraback has cast 6,398 votes and has been present for every vote taken in his thirteen legislative sessions. After serving six years in the House of Representatives and seven years in the Senate, Senator Roraback is the only member of the 187 member General Assembly who can claim this record.

“Voting on behalf of the people of my district is the most important responsibility I have as a state Senator,” said Senator Roraback. “I am privileged to represent a district whose residents pride themselves on hard work and civic engagement. I feel fortunate that neither illness nor any other emergency has interfered with my ability to work on their behalf.”

Senator Roraback, the Deputy Senate Minority Leader Pro Tempore and Minority Caucus Chairman of the Connecticut State Senate, currently represents the 30th District communities of Brookfield, Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Milford, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington, Warren, Washington and Winsted.