Connecticut Association of Nonprofits Honors Senator Roraback

November 15, 2006

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-Goshen) today was honored by the Connecticut Association of Nonprofits at the organization’s annual meeting held the Hartford Convention Center. Senator Roraback was presented with a plaque which recognized him “for his steadfast commitment and service to Connecticut’s nonprofit sector and for making a difference in the lives of the people of Connecticut.” Debbie Shapiro, the Director of the FISH Shelter in Torrington, presented Senator Roraback with his award.

“I am honored to be recognized by an organization so committed to meeting basic human service needs,” said Senator Roraback, who serves as an Assistant Minority Leader. “While our work on these issue in Hartford is critical, the work done everyday by non-profits serving individuals one by one is the most important work.”

In addition to Debbie Shaprio, representatives from a variety of local Litchfield County non-profits attended today’s event. Greg Briscoe, the Director of the Torrington YMCA, Roberta Andrulis, the Executive Director of the Litchfield Community Center, Larry Cassella, the Director of the Litchfield Association for Retarded Citizens (LARC), and Representative Ann Ruwet, the Executive Director of the Central Connecticut Association for Regarded Citizens (CCARC) branch were all on hand.

The CT Association of Non-Profits is an organization that advocates on behalf of 480 non-profits from throughout Connecticut.
Senator Roraback is in his third term representing the 30th district communities of Brookfield, Canaan, Cornwall, Goshen, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, New Milford, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Torrington, Warren, Washington, and Winchester.