Jan. 25 Waterbury Regional Chamber Legislative Breakfast

December 29, 2016

WATERBURY — The Waterbury Regional Chamber will host its 2017 Legislative Breakfast from 7:45 to 9:30 a.m. Wednesday, January 25, at the Courtyard by Marriott Hotel at 63 Grand Street in Waterbury.

With the support of Gold sponsors Saint Mary’s Health System and the Smaller Manufacturers Association (SMA), this event is also open to all SMA members for the first time.

The annual event provides Chamber members the opportunity to connect with state leaders on their priorities regarding numerous issues that impact the business community, including taxes, workforce development, health care concerns, energy costs, infrastructure funding, and brownfield remediation. The breakfast will include comments from each attending legislator, their responses to questions prepared by the Chamber staff and questions from attendees who will also be able to directly engage with the region’s legislators as the 2017 Legislative Session begins.
During the breakfast the Chamber will unveil its 2017 Legislative Agenda which will be shared with members of the region’s legislative delegation. The Agenda represents the business community’s priorities in matters of public policy and economic development for the greater Waterbury region.  It has been developed after months of work by the Chamber staff, board of directors, public policy committee, health care council and others. It states the Chamber’s positions on numerous issues the General Assembly will take up in 2017 that are important to Chamber members.

Priorities outlined in the Chamber’s 2017 Legislative Agenda include enforcing the state’s spending cap; reining in state employee benefits; creating fiscal stability and certainty; opposing new tax increases; supporting workforce development; and reducing unfunded mandates.
Legislators invited to attend include seven new legislators who defeated incumbents or won open seats. Invited legislators are Senators Joan Hartley, Robert Kane, George Logan, Joe Markley and Len Suzio. The 16 State Representatives invited include Jeffrey Berger, Eric Berthel, Larry Butler, Stephanie Cummings, Anthony D’Amelio, Craig Fishbein, Nicole Klarides-Ditria, David Labriola, Elizabeth Linehan, Arthur O’Neill, John Piscopo, Rosa Rebimbas, Geraldo Reyes, Robert Sampson, David Wilson and Lezlye Zupkus.

Gold sponsors of the Waterbury Regional Chamber 2017 Legislative Breakfast are Saint Mary’s Health System and Smaller Manufacturers Association (SMA).

Reserved seating for the Chamber and SMA Members-only breakfast is $35, and $400 for reserved table for 10 with priority seating and company signage and recognition. Reservations are requested by January 19, 2017.

To learn more, to sponsor and to register, visit www.waterburychamber.com, or contact Courtney Ligi at cligi@waterburychamber.com or Alison Amato at aamato@waterburychamber.com, or call 203-757-0701.